Getting Active

It’s been a little bit since my last post, mostly because I tend to leave my computer in my during the day and typing on an iphone is just awful. Over the next few days I’m going to try and catch up on some funny stories that have happened to me in my ever chaotic parenting journey, but for today I wanted to talk a little bit about my new goal for fitness. I had been going to the gym for a month but then I decided to trade my gym membership for appointments with a Chiropractor. Which is amazing by the way. I highly recommend that anyone who has the opportunity goes to a chiropractor for at the very least a consultation. I was feeling terrible for a very long time, and after just a few weeks of appointments the change in my energy levels, mood and the overall feeling of my body is incredible! But anyway, now that I am not going to the gym I need a new fitness plan so that I can try to not only shed some of the baby weight but also just feel better and more active. So with that in mind, I bought a new jogging stroller and signed up for a 5k in September. Because if there is one thing I have learned about myself, its that the prospect of embarrassing the hell out of myself in front of hundreds of people is fantastic motivation to get my ass in shape. The 5k I signed up for is extremely exciting! It’s the Color Run 5k that’s coming to Burlington in September! It’s going to be so much fun, assuming I get in shape. The whole idea is that you run with hundreds of other people while stopping at designated areas to get covered in colorful paints! To get ready for this fun event I bought a new single jogging stroller because the double stroller is a bit big for our little peanut. The jogging stroller I got can be found here and I have to say it is by far one of the better ones I’ve seen and has completely surpassed my expectations. I was able to set it up very quickly and easily and take it out for a brief stroll today. It was brief because go figure it was far windier outside than I anticipated and of course after getting bundled up Jacy was cranky as can be so yeah it was a brief stroll. But on the bright side Jacy looked adorable and it was extremely easy to push. It has springs and large wheels that makes it ride ridiculously smooth. It was so easy to steer with the swivel front wheel and the cup holders are awesome. It also fit Jacy’s carseat in there perfectly while providing an extra layer of protection in the form of a buckle that goes right over her seat holding her firmly in place. So yeah if anyone is looking for a jogging stroller I cannot recommend this one enough! Now that I have signed up for the race and gotten a stroller the next step for me, that I am hopefully going to begin tomorrow is to once again make use of my iphone by using a free app called myfirst5k. It’s an app that helps you get ready for a 5k by having you begin running daily for 30 minutes. The way it does this is that for the first few days you walk and run in 90 second/30 second intervals. Then you progressively beginning switching every few days until you are running for 90 seconds and walking for 30 seconds. Eventually you should be able to run the full 30 minutes. I really love this app because it provides you with a great framework to work with, is easy to use and keeps you on track. So here’s to fitness and motivation and hopefully being able to write next week that progress is being made!

Image

Leave a Reply

